分享

Deshane, about Canada, who I am, etc.

王朝英语沙龙·作者佚名  2007-01-10
窄屏简体版  字體: |||超大  

Dear Deshane,

I'm afraid the truth is not so romantic. I am Canuck's elder sister. A couple of years ago he invited me to join the forum, so here I am. I told you in my previous post that I am a grandmother, married, have children and eight grandchildren.

It is not hard for me to write English because it is my native language just as I am sure it is not hard for you to write your Chinese language. I am glad to share the language I love. It is not perfect, of course not. What is perfect in this world? But it can be beautiful and interesting, and it is very useful all over the world. I went to university after my children were grown, and studied fine arts and I am an artist. I don't sell my work although I have had offers when I have shown it. I sometimes show it, but not often. I write a little poetry for myself. Most people think it is peculiar and hard to understand, and many also feel the same about my art. I always like things that are unusual and that can lead to the viewer's own thoughts and introspection. I hate to be bored,so I try to make pieces that have enough new things to find in them so that one shouldn't become bored with them.

Our family, Canuck's and my ancestry, is a great mixture of Scottish, Bukovinian, Walloon, Dutch, German, and Irish. This is often typical of Canadians. In David's and my case, our ancestors were in North America in 1624. They were Walloon Huguenots from Northern France/southern Belgium, (The Walloon's historic homeland. Caesar called them "the fiercest of the Gauls"). Our family at that time were skilled as dyers in colour and were involved in the international cloth trade and the guilds. They were a well established family who fled from the terrible Spanish Inquisition, first to Holland, and then to America.